Home Page

Subject Knowledge and Domain Specific Vocabulary for each Year Group

The following document has been put together by Computing at School who promote the teaching of computing in schools.

The document will lead you through the whole process from planning lessons to resourcing, teaching and then the final assessment.

The computing curriculum is broken down in to three areas:

  • Computer Science (CS)
  • Information Technology (IT)
  • Digital Literacy (DL) 

Information about these specific areas is available on pages 7 and 26 of the attached document.

The computing curriculum itself differs between Key Stage 1 (KS1) and Key Stage 2 (KS2) so for a clearer outline of subject knowledge required please go to the following pages:

KS1 - P.11-14

KS2 - P.8-10


For a full glossary of terms for domain specific vocabulary please see P.28